Let’s talk soap

002.jpgI made a cold process batch of grapefruit soap a few weeks ago and finally got the pleasure of using it just yesterday. First, let me say, the smell is outrageous. It’s like cutting into a fresh grapefruit! It also lathers nicely-as will all of my soaps, because I love lather-and the bars are nice and long lasting. On the down side of this batch, it was only a one pound batch, and so the bars only came out as two ounce bars, which I’m selling as sample sizes on my etsy shop. On the plus side, I get to make more; my order of sodium hydroxide comes in on Monday. Next week I will be making soap in the following scents: Mocha Creme, Grapefruit, Lemon Poppyseed, Banana (YES-banana SOAP!), Thai Coconut, and Strawberry Shortcake.

I also finally got Adobe Dreamweaver-a program I’ve never used before but have been wanting to learn- and am just beginning to design my own website! It’s really difficult work. It’s a lot of tedious codes, pages, fonts, pictures, lining up, etc. But so far, it’s coming out quite nicely (for a beginner!)

I’ll be working on my shop all day, hopefully coming up with some new recipes :p

DIY Recipe of the day: Mocha Shower Scrub

1/2 cup sweet almond oil, sunflower oil, or grapeseed oil

1/3 cup finely ground turbinado sugar

1/4 cup coffee grounds

2 tablespoons cocoa powder

2-5 drops of peppermint essential oil

Combine all ingredients in a bowl, mixing well. Store in an airtight container. To prolong shelfline, store in refrigerator or add 5-10 drops of grapefruit seed extract.

T ip: Add 1-3 drops of lavender essential oil for a more relaxed, therapeutic scrub.

7 Responses

  1. Grapefruit sounds glorious, we got a truck full at the school for a fund raiser & unloading didn’t bother me a bit because the smell was so great.

  2. Wow, your blog looks awesome! I love your banner. 😀

    Good luck on building your website! I’m also working on a website. I love building sites, but there are so many big decisions to make. I don’t want to ever have to go back and revise! 😀

  3. Hello…great page! The recipe is sounds wonderful!!!
    Cheers Heather
    http://azureislandsdesigns.blogspot.com/

  4. Congratulations on your new blog! I just found you through your post on Etsy. It’s lovely and I look forward to reading more recipes in the future!

  5. Mmmm – grapefruit! How envigorating! 🙂

  6. That grapefruit soaps look yummy! I’ve once tried a free trial of Dreamweaver – a great programm!! Good luck on your own website!

  7. Grapefruit’s one of my favourite smells – that soap sounds divine!

Leave a Reply

