Chocolate Bombs

Bath BombsI made a delicious smelling batch of chocolate bath bombs last night. I don’t think I will EVER get over the smell of chocolate. Chocolate is-to me- one of those scents that just makes you smile. I’ve been doing a lot of research on chocolate lately. Did you know that chocolate has a massive reputation for being a natural aphrodisiac? I’m getting together one of my newest lines, which will hopefully be introduced come spring time. The Royal Coquette: Chocolate Junkie

It will be scrubs, body butters and body balms to start with. The scents that I have in mind? Chocolate & Coconut, Chocolate Ginger, Chocolate Mandarin, Chocolate Raspberry Truffle, and Chocolate Therapy (A blend of chocolate and essential oils). Yes, that is a lot of chocolate-hence the name: Chocolate Junkie!

I’m really working hard to keep my business afloat now…’tis the season, eh? Honestly, I can’t wait for summer. Winter in Maine….I feel like it gets more and more brutal every year! At least I’m doing what I love 🙂

I also got in my shipments today! Coconut oil, cocoa butter, sodium hydroxide, essential oils, and a few other favourite materials I can have fun with. I just love, love, LOVE getting packages! I always track my packages online so I know what day they are arriving. When the day finally comes, I sit at my kitchen table browsing on etsy and sipping PG Tips, looking out the window for Troy (the name of our UPS delivery man). He usually comes in the morning. If, by odd chance, I happen to leave my post whilst waiting, I always know when he arrives anyways, because he beeps the horn of his truck as he pulls into our driveway. I don’t know if I’m alone here-but I also LOVE signing for packages! Doesn’t it just make you feel so…important? I love UPS deliveries. I’m like a little kid at christmas-carelessly lunging for the sharp objects to rip open the overly used packaging tape while styrofoam peanuts fly through the air. And again, like a child on Christmas, I’ll sit in my mess of boxes and wrapping, admiring my new “toys” for a few precious minutes, until I finally come to my senses of responsibility and adulthood to get back to work.

Recipe of the Day: Simple Bath Bombs:

1/2 cup citric acid

1 1/2 cups baking soda

4 tablespoons sweet almond oil

Spritz bottle of water or witch hazel

Essential or fragrance oil

Combine citric acid and baking powder in a bowl and mix well. Drizzle in the oil until well distributed (should stick together somewhat nicely if you hold some in your fist). Add a few drops of essential oil and/or a teaspoon of fragrance oil. Spritz the water a little at a time into the mixture, stirring very well as you go. If you add to much water, the mixture will fizz too much and be ruined. A nice way to tell that they are ready to be molded is that the mixture will start to form into tiny balls, such as the size of styrofoam.

Put in a mold (I use an ice cream scoop just to get the shape and take them out and let them sit in that shape overnight. When hard they are ready for use! Use in the bath or shower.

4 Responses

  1. Mmmm I love chocolate too. I don’t think I’d be able to resist eating them.
    Haha.
    🙂

  2. Chocolate is one of my favorite scents. Your new line sounds like it will be a great addition

  3. Those look great but I have to admit, I want to eat them, I don’t want to use them in the bath. 🙂 Perfect for all seasons but particularly lovely for Valentine’s Day. I like your Chocolate Coconut idea. That sounds amazing and still as yummy.

    And the UPS… or hell, let’s be real, even a Priority Mail box coming in the post sends me into the same fit as you. It’s like some sort of manic fugue. which is really funny because one knows what one’s bought yet it diminishes the joy in no way. 😀

  4. Wait, you can BATHE in chocolate?! Why have I not been made aware of this before? That’s awesome! 🙂

Leave a Reply

